Peymeinade

Peymeinade , Peymeinade

Mairie de Peymeinade
11, Bd du Général de Gaulle
06530 PEYMEINADE
+33 (0)4 93 66 10 05
mairie@peymeinade.fr
www.peymeinade.fr



Peymeinade, twenty kilometers from the sea, at the foot of the Alps, enjoys exceptional surroundings amidst olive trees and flower crops. Inhabited since Roman times, it was a trade crossroads (spices, hides, Cannes corals) between Nice and Provence. It is a Provencal city that was once a more rural environment of floral agriculture and now features old houses grouped around the 18th-century church and a magnificent, round, 19th-century fountain decorated with lion heads. The natural setting promises lovely walks along the Canal de la Siagne or in the Peygros forest.

Must-see sights:

- Saint Roch church: On the site of the current church, the inhabitants had originally built a chapel. As the first structure quickly became too small, it gave way to the current building in 1746, the date inscribed on the pediment, later becoming the church sacristy. It was placed under the protection of Saint Roch, the patron saint against the Plague that ravaged the region in the 14th-century.

- Place Gervais Court: Every year, in early August, Peymeinade celebrates Saint Roch Day. This festival was previously held on the Place Gervais Court with much gaiety and celebration. People danced to the music of the band perched on the washhouse, drank wine, listened to speeches, or joined in games and contests organized just for the occasion. This square became home to the first fountain built in Peymeinade, as well as the first washhouse, fed by the Canal de la Siagne, which brought water to the village center.

- Le Domaine du Mas de l’Olivine: Discover the how the emblematic flowers of the Grasse region are grown – from iris to lily, rose to jasmine – on this family estate in the midst of a 300-tree olive grove. The owners are two people passionate about the earth and scents: Audrey (from a family of four generations of flower-pickers) and Thierry (a gardener responsible for many beautiful private Mediterranean gardens). They welcome you to their 18th-century family estate and, loving food as much as they do flowers, they transform, by hand, their own blossoms into sweet delights. Come experience a world of surprising and delightful tastes and scents! (More information)

Activities:

- Hikes and walks
- Swimming pool
- Fishing

Key annual events:

- July 13-August 3: Les Estivales summer events
- September 29-30: Le Temps d’une Note classical music festival
- November 11-18: Peymeinade en Scène theater festival

Dormir sur la commune...

Peymeinade

Peymeinade , Peymeinade

Mairie de Peymeinade
11, Bd du Général de Gaulle
06530 PEYMEINADE
+33 (0)4 93 66 10 05
mairie@peymeinade.fr
www.peymeinade.fr



Peymeinade, située au pied des Alpes et  à 20 km de la mer, bénéficie d’un environnement privilégié, parmi les oliviers et les cultures florales. Habitée depuis l’époque romaine, elle fut un carrefour commercial (épices, peaux, coraux de Cannes), entre Nice et la Provence. C’est une cité provençale, autrefois rurale (fleurs), qui regroupe des maisons anciennes autour de l’église du 18ème siècle avec une belle fontaine ronde du 19ème siècle à têtes de lions. Ses alentours permettent de belles balades le long du canal de la Siagne ou dans la forêt de Peygros.

Les incontournables :

- L’Eglise Saint-Roch : sur le site de l’église actuelle se trouvait à l’origine une chapelle construite par les habitants. Cette dernière, trop petite, laissa place à l’édifice actuel en 1746, date d’inauguration inscrite sur le fronton, devenant ainsi la sacristie de l’église. Elle fut placée sous la protection de Saint Roch, saint patron contre la peste qui ravagea la région au 14ème siècle.

- La place Gervais Court : chaque année, au cours des premiers jours d’août, Peymeinade célèbre la Saint-Roch. Auparavant, cette fête se déroulait sur la place Gervais Court où régnait la gaieté. On pouvait danser au son de  l’orchestre perché sur le lavoir, savourer le vin d’honneur, écouter les discours ou encore prendre part aux jeux et concours mis en place pour l’occasion. On trouve sur cette place la première fontaine construite à Peymeinade ainsi que le premier lavoir, alimentés par le canal de la Siagne, permettant à l’eau d’arriver au cœur du village.

- Le Domaine du Mas de l’Olivine : venez découvrir la culture des fleurs emblématiques du Pays de Grasse (Iris, lys, rose, jasmin…)  sur ce domaine familial, au milieu d’une oliveraie de 300 arbres. Deux amoureux de la terre et des senteurs, Audrey (issue d’une famille de cueilleurs depuis 4 générations) et Thierry (jardinier, ayant fait de beaux jardins privés méditerranéens), vous ouvrent les portes de leur domaine familial du 18ème siècle. Gourmands, ils transforment leurs fleurs eux-mêmes en confiseries et vous proposent de nombreuses surprises olfactives et gustatives ! (en savoir plus)

Les activités :

- Randonnées et promenades
- Piscine
- Pêche

Les rendez-vous annuels :

- juillet- août : les Estivales
- septembre : festival Musique Classique « Le temps d’une Note »
- novembre : Peymeinade en scène, festival de théâtre

Dormir sur la commune...