Saint-Cézaire-sur-Siagne

Saint Cézaire , Saint Cézaire

Bureau d’Information Touristique de SAINT-CÉZAIRE SUR SIAGNE
3, rue de la République
06530 SAINT-CÉZAIRE SUR SIAGNE
tourisme.stcezaire@paysdegrassetourisme.fr



This beautiful medieval village clinging to the dizzying cliffs overlooking the Siagne River is well worth the detour, if only for its wooded hills and views of the Maures and Estérel mountains. This site has appealed to humans since the Neolithic Period, as evidenced by the many dolmens, and was colonized by the Romans, who grew wheat here. Saint-Cézaire-sur-Siagne was dependent on the Lérins Abbey until the 12th century, and then was a stronghold of seigniorial families. In certain periods of history, it enjoyed a thriving economy driven by its flour and (famous) oil mills, and even had paper mills in the 19th century on the banks of the Siagne. This wild and impetuous river flows 300 meters below and is home to protected flora and fauna. The village holds many cultural events throughout the year and is also a paradise for sports enthusiasts, with numerous trails, abundant nature, and gems like the magnificent Les Malines rock-climbing site.

Must-see sights:

- La Grotte de Saint-Cézaire: This impressive cave, discovered in 1890, plunges down to 40 meters beneath the earth and was discovered in the late 19th century by a farmer clearing his field. Deeper excavation revealed a great chasm, and stairs were soon installed to open the cave to visitors. Renowned for the variety of its concretions in magnificent colors, the cave has been further enhanced by a multicolored luminous waterfall that highlights the bottom of the chasm. (more information)

- The Notre-Dame de Sardaigne chapel: This chapel, which dates from the late 12th century, was built by the Lérins monks, who at that time owned most of the village lands. It was the parish church until the construction of the current church, which was consecrated on May 7, 1722. The architectural ensemble of the Notre-Dame de Sardaigne chapel, listed as an historic monument, is of rare elegance, with its cul-de-four apse and nave with a pointed barrel vault. Inside are also two reliquary busts and a Gallo-Roman sarcophagus.

- Les Puits de la Vierge: Located below the school, this rare ensemble of nine wells began taking form in the 15th century and was named the “Wells of the Virgin” in 1865, when the column dedicated to the Virgin was built. Four of the nine wells are covered with a hemispherical vault and their contents are potable for human consumption. The other five, surrounded by troughs and with hooks in the stone, were designed to provide water for animals.

Activities:

- Hiking, rock climbing
- Horseback riding, tennis, archery
- La Grotte de Saint Cézaire cave, with a treetop adventure park (more information)
- The Chèvrerie du Bois d’Amon goat farm
- The Rucher de Saint Cézaire apiary

Key annual events:

In June: Contemporary Art Day
In July: Les Rencontres Musicales de Saint Cézaire music festival, Medieval Festival
In August: Jazz Festival
In September: Saint Ferréol patron saint day

 

Dormir sur la commune...

Saint-Cézaire-sur-Siagne

le point de vue , Toits de Saint Cézaire

La mairie
5, rue de la République,
06530 St.Cézaire sur Siagne
+33(0)4 93 40 57 57
+33(0)4 93 60 81 80
mairie@saintcezairesursiagne.fr



Ce beau village médiéval accroché aux falaises verticales dominant la Siagne mérite largement votre détour ne serait-ce que pour ses paysages de collines boisées et sa vue sur les Maures et l’Estérel. Ce site attire les hommes depuis le Néolithique, comme en témoignent les nombreux dolmens,  et fut colonisé par les Romains qui y cultivaient le blé. Dépendant de l’abbaye de Lérins jusqu’au 12 ème siècle, puis fief des familles seigneuriales, Saint-Cézaire-sur-Siagne connut, à certaines époques, une économie florissante grâce à ses moulins à farine et à huile d’olive (renommée) et même à papier au 19 ème siècle au bord de la Siagne. Ce fleuve sauvage et impétueux  coule 300m plus bas et abrite une faune et une flore protégées. Village animé par de nombreuses manifestations culturelles, c’est aussi un lieu propice aux activités sportives dont le magnifique site d’escalade des Malines.

Les incontournables :

- La grotte de Saint-Cézaire : découverte en 1890, la grotte, descendant jusqu’à 40 mètres sous terre, fut découverte fin 19 ème siècle par un agriculteur qui défriche son champ. En creusant davantage, un gouffre apparaît. Des escaliers seront  aménagés afin d’ouvrir la grotte aux visiteurs. Réputée pour ses concrétions variées aux magnifiques couleurs, elle s’est enrichie d’une cascade lumineuse multicolore, mettant en valeur le fond du gouffre.

- La chapelle Notre-Dame de Sardaigne : datant de la fin du 12ème siècle, la chapelle fut construite par les moines de Lérins, propriétaires à cette époque de la plupart des terres du village. Elle fut l’église paroissiale jusqu’à la construction de l’église actuelle, consacrée le 7 mai 1722. L’ensemble architectural de la chapelle Notre-Dame de Sardaigne inscrite aux Monuments Historiques est d’une rare élégance, avec son abside en « cul de four » et sa nef “en berceau brisé”. On peut y voir deux bustes reliquaires ainsi qu’un sarcophage gallo-romain.

- Les puits de la Vierge : situé en contrebas de l’école, cet   ensemble rare de neuf puits fut construit à partir du 15ème siècle et baptisé « Puits de la Vierge » en 1865, au moment de la construction de la colonne dédiée à la Vierge. Quatre des neuf puits sont recouverts d’une voûte hémisphérique et étaient destinés à la consommation humaine. Les cinq autres, entourés d’auges et équipés de crochets dans la pierre, étaient destinés aux animaux.

Les activités :

- Randonnées pédestres, escalade
- Equitation, tennis, tir à l’arc.
- La grotte de Saint Cézaire avec son parc accrobranche
- La chèvrerie du bois d’Amon
- Le rucher de Saint Cézaire

Les rendez-vous annuels :

En juin: journée d’Art contemporain
En juillet : festival Les Rencontres musicales de Saint Cézaire et fête médiévale
En août : festival de jazz
En septembre : fête patronale de la Saint-Ferréol

Dormir sur la commune...