Mouans-Sartoux

mouans

Office de Tourisme
258, avenue de Cannes
06370 Mouans-Sartoux
Tél : + 33(0)4 93 75 75 16
tourisme@mouans-sartoux.com
www.mouans-sartoux.com



Mouans-Sartoux, the city of the good life.
Set between sea and scents, Mouans-Sartoux used to be a farming village (olive trees, jasmine and rose crops for Grasse perfumeries) that gradually opened to trade and crafts.
Explore the historic town center, starting at one of its two squares shaded by plane trees, to admire the large, antique-style fountain and handsome church with a baroque facade in pink and blue.
Take a relaxed stroll in the peaceful, narrow streets with flowers on every other windowsill and colorful facades in blue, yellow, and pink, then return to the square to quench your thirst on a café terrace.

Must-see sights:

- The Château de Mouans-Sartoux: Built between the late 15th and early 16th centuries by Jean de Grasse, the Château de Mouans (its original name) remained the property of Grasse until 1750, before possession was passed to Villeneuve. Like many other seigneurial residences, it was partially destroyed during the French Revolution. In the early 19th century, the Durand de Sartoux family restored the edifice, taking care to preserve its original triangular architecture, three towers, and inner courtyard. It has been the property of the city of Mouans-Sartoux since 1988 and is a listed historic monument. Today, with the advent of the “Espace de l’Art Concret,” it has become a contemporary art center of international repute.

- Jardins du MIP (International Perfume Museum Gardens): Centifolia rose, jasmine, tuberose, lavender, geranium, broom, orange tree – perfumes are first born in plants from here and afar.  At the unique Jardins du Musée International de la Parfumerie, discover and smell these botanical species, plants that have provided the raw material for perfume for centuries. Built around an old canal and agricultural basin, the site spans 3.5 hectares. Take a guided tour through the gardens and discover why these plants produce a fragrance as you discover them in groups based on their olfactory notes: citrus, floral, woody, spicy, fruity, musky, etc. Improve your understanding of ecosystems, insects, scents, and history.

- L’Espace de l’Art Concret: The contemporary art center inside the Château de Mouans-Sartoux has several sites dedicated to Concrete Art and the legacy of that movement. The Albers-Honegger gift, a cubic edifice by Swiss architects Gigon & Guyer, houses a permanent collection unlike any other in France, with more than 600 works by major artists. The chateau also has a dedicated space for temporary exhibits and special rooms for educational activities, essential to raising the awareness of the widest possible public to the art of today.

Activities:

- Hiking
- Horseback riding
- L’Espace de l’Art Concret
- The Château de Mouans-Sartoux
- The Reflets d’un Monde Rural (“Reflections of a Rural World”) museum
- Jardins du MIP (International Perfume Museum Gardens)

Key annual events:

In April: Honey festival
In June: National music festival (Fête de la Musique)
In June: Pottery festival
In July and August: Nuits Estivales du Château summer concert series
In September: Gourmet market
In October: Book festival
In November and December: Provencal Christmas-crèche figure (santon) fair

Dormir sur la commune...

Mouans-Sartoux

mouans , mouans

Mouans Accueil Informations
258, avenue de Cannes
06370 MOUANS-SARTOUX
+ 33(0)4 93 75 75 16
contact@mouans-sartoux.com
www.mouans-sartoux.com



Situé entre mer et parfums, Mouans-Sartoux était autrefois un village agricole (oliviers, cultures florales, jasmins et roses pour les parfumeries grassoises) qui s’est progressivement ouvert au commerce et à l’artisanat.
Découvrez le centre historique en partant d’une de ses deux places ombragées de platanes, agrémentée d’une grosse fontaine de style « antique », et d’une belle église à façade baroque vêtue de rose et de bleu.
Musardez dans ses ruelles tranquilles et fleuries, aux façades colorées en bleu, jaune ou rose, et revenez  sur la place vous désaltérer à une terrasse de café.

Les incontournables :

- Le château de Mouans : construit entre la fin du 15ème siècle et le tout début du 16ème siècle par Jean de Grasse, le château de Mouans est resté la propriété des Grasse jusqu’en 1750 avant de passer aux Villeneuve. Au cours de la Révolution, il sera partiellement détruit comme un grand nombre de demeures seigneuriales. Au début du 19ème siècle, la famille Durand de Sartoux  le réhabilite en prenant soin de conserver son architecture triangulaire d’origine, ses trois tours ainsi que sa cour intérieure. Propriété de la commune depuis 1988, il est inscrit à l’inventaire des monuments historiques. Il est aujourd’hui devenu, grâce à « l’Espace de l’Art Concret », un centre d’art contemporain de réputation internationale.

- Les Jardins du MIP : rose centifolia, jasmin, tubéreuse, lavande, géranium, genêt, oranger, les parfums naissent tout d’abord dans les plantes, d’ici ou d’ailleurs. Dans le cadre unique des Jardins du Musée International de la Parfumerie, découvrez et sentez ces espèces qui fournissent depuis des siècles les précieuses matières premières de la parfumerie. Articulé autour d’un vieux canal et d’un bassin agricole, le site s’étend sur 3,5 hectares. Laissez-vous guider le temps d’une promenade à travers les jardins et découvrez ainsi pourquoi les plantes, ordonnancées selon leurs notes olfactives : hespéridée, florale, boisée, épicée, fruitée, musquée  produisent une odeur. Enrichissez ainsi vos connaissances sur les écosystèmes, les insectes, les  senteurs et l’histoire.

- L’espace de l’Art concret : le centre d’Art Contemporain, situé au cœur du château de Mouans-Sartoux, offre plusieurs  sites consacrés à l’Art concret et à son héritage. La donation Albers-Honegger, édifice de forme cubique, réalisé par les architectes suisses Gigon & Guyer, abrite une collection permanente unique en France regroupant plus de 600 œuvres d’artistes majeurs. Le château propose un espace dédié aux expositions temporaires et des salles destinées aux activités pédagogiques, essentielle pour sensibiliser le public le plus vaste à l’art d’aujourd’hui.

Les activités :

- Randonnées pédestres
- Equitation
- L’espace de l’Art Concret (en savoir plus)
- Le Château de Mouans-Sartoux
- Le Musée « Reflets d‘un monde rural »
- Les Jardins du Musée International de la Parfumerie (en savoir plus)

Les rendez-vous annuels :

En avril : la fête du miel
En juin : la fête de la musique
En juin : la fête de la poterie
En juillet et août : les nuits estivales du Château
En septembre : le marché gourmand
En octobre : le festival du livre
En novembre et décembre : la foire aux santons

Dormir sur la commune...