Collongues

Collongues , Collongues

Mairie de Collongues
Place du Château
06910 COLLONGUES
+33(0)4 83 93 60 04
mairie-de-collongues@nordnet.fr
www.villagedecollongues.wifeo.com



Collongues, a charming village of some one hundred inhabitants, is perched on a rocky outcrop at 670 meters above sea level. Its aging homes are clustered in a circle, like a fortified castle of old, as though to ward off assailants from both heaven and earth. When venturing into its sloping streets, ones that seem to lead nowhere in particular, the village’s originality becomes evident. But such wandering gives you a chance to appreciate the many ancient architectural vestiges, like the castle, medieval church, and vaulted porches. The Riou River crosses through Collongues, nourishing the broad, verdant Cressonnière plain, stretched out in the shade of the surrounding mountains, a fisherman’s paradise.

Must-see sights:

-Saint Roch church: Built in the 13th century, Saint Roch church is the last survivor of the battles that raged in the Middle Ages. The building, a witness to many centuries of history, overlooks the village of Collongues and is one of its most important heritage monuments. Inside, adorning the altars, are two paintings restored in 1999. The first, from 1730, by Joseph Maunier of Draguignan, depicts Saint Joseph, Saint Roch, and Saint Honoré. The second is of the crowned Virgin holding Jesus in her arms, surrounded by Saint John the Baptist and Saint Anne.

- Oratoire Saint Roch: This wayside shrine, dedicated to Saint Roch, the patron saint of the village, was built in 1500 during the time of the Plague. Saint Roch has always been seen as the great protector from this terrible disease.

Activities:

- Hiking on the GR510 trail, on Miolans mountain, and in the valleys of Madaric, Fontagne, La Terrace, and Riou (near the GR4 trail)
- Horseback riding
- Mountain biking
- Fishing
- Hunting
- ATV: Fontfrede Quad Way

 

Dormir sur la commune...

Collongues

Collongues , Collongues

Mairie de Collongues
Place du Château
06910 COLLONGUES
+33(0)4 83 93 60 04
mairie-de-collongues@nordnet.fr
www.villagedecollongues.wifeo.com



Charmant village d’une centaine d’habitants, Collongues se perche sur un éperon rocheux à 670 m d’altitude. Ses maisons vieillissantes sont regroupées en cercle à la manière d’un château-fort, comme si elles voulaient se protéger d’assaillants venus de ciel et de terre. Son originalité se ressent lorsque l’on se hasarde au cœur de ses ruelles en pente qui semblent ne mener nulle part. Néanmoins, elles vous permettront d’apprécier ses vestiges architecturaux notamment son château, son église médiévale et ses porches voûtés. Collongues est traversé par la rivière «le Riou», dont la large plaine verdoyante de Cressonnière, ombragée par les montagnes environnantes, est le paradis des pêcheurs.

Les incontournables :

- L’Eglise Saint-Roch : construite au 13ème siècle, l’église saint Roch constitue le dernier élément rescapé des batailles qui firent rage au Moyen-Age. Véritable témoin des temps anciens, l’édifice domine le village de Collongues et constitue l’une de ses plus grandes richesses. A l’intérieur, deux tableaux restaurés en 1999 ornent les autels. Le premier, peint par Joseph Maunier de Draguignan en 1730, représente saint Joseph, saint Roch et saint Honoré. Le second représente quant à lui la Vierge couronnée gardant Jésus dans ses bras, entourée de saint Jean-Baptiste et de sainte Anne.

- L’Oratoire Saint-Roch : dédié à Saint-Roch, saint patron de la commune, cet oratoire fut construit en 1500 lors de la grande épidémie de peste. En effet, Saint-Roch est depuis toujours considéré comme le grand protecteur contre cette terrible maladie.

Les activités :

- Randonnées pédestres avec le GR 510, dans la montagne des Miolans, les vallons de Madaric, de Fontagne, de la Terrasse et du Riou (Proche du GR4)
- Balades à cheval
- VTT
- Pêche
- Chasse
- Quad : Fontfrede Quad Way

 

Dormir sur la commune...