Caille

CAILLE , CAILLE

Mairie de Caille
18, rue Principale
06750 CAILLE
+33(0)4 93 60 31 51
caille@lesmontsdazur.com
www.ville-caille.net



Caille is a village typical of the foothills of the Alps, tucked between the Mediterranean and that mighty mountain range, nestled deep in a plain at the foot of Roux Baou peak
Caille’s history dates back centuries and its architectural heritage has been given pride of place by the town for several years, with a venerable chateau (private), a church decorated with 18th-century paintings, a washhouse, a bread oven, and 18th-century houses with doorframes and windowframes in hewn rock or wood, the perfect setting for a satisfying stroll.

Must-see sights:

- The Saint Etienne parish church:  A church dedicated to Saint Etienne occupied the site prior to the construction of the new church. Originally facing east, the work that began in 1866 reoriented the new church to the north, building its choir on the old cemetery. Decorated with 18th-century paintings, the new church has a square bell tower and a single nave.

- The Château de Caille: The village’s castle, built prior to the 16th century, was remodeled several times over the centuries before finally being divided in 1868. Several large noble families lived in succession in the castle from the 13th to the 18th centuries. The entablature of the original door appears to be neoclassical, favoring orderly lines and symmetry.

- The Caille washhouse: the lavoir, or washhouse, dates from the early 20th century and is part of the last generation of village washhouses. It was recently decorated with a fresco depicting a typical scene of village women gathering around the washhouse to do their laundry. In Michèle Fontana’s book Si Caille … m’était conté, one of these women explains how doing the laundry was a chore that took an entire day.

Activities:

- Hiking in the plains and on Audibergue mountain
- Snowshoeing
- Downhill and cross-country skiing
- Mountain biking: VTT de la Glacière + Runix carts
- Via Souterrata (underground via ferrata)
- Caving
- La Moulière tree-top adventure park

Key annual events:

In June: Amerindian festival
In July: Bread Festival, Pass’a Caille music festival, 4x4 Trial
In August: Fête de la Saint Etienne

 

 

Dormir sur la commune...

Caille

Mairie de Caille
18, rue Principale
06750 Caille
Tel : +33(0)493 60 31 51
caille@lesmontsdazur.com
www.ville-caille.net



Caille, village typique des Préalpes est niché au fond d’une plaine agricole, ancien « poljé » (bassin d’effondrement karstique) au pied du «Baou Roux». Caille, c’est une histoire qui dure depuis des siècles, avec une présence humaine dès la préhistoire. Son patrimoine architectural est remis en valeur par la commune depuis plusieurs années. L’ancien château, l’église ornée de tableaux du 18 ème siècle, le lavoir, le four à pain, les maisons du 18 ème siècle aux encadrements de portes et fenêtres en pierres de taille ou en bois, donnent au verbe flâner tout son sens.

Les incontournables :

- L’Eglise paroissiale Saint-Etienne : Avant la construction de la nouvelle église, existait déjà au même emplacement, une église dédiée à Saint-Etienne. À l’origine orientée à l’est, les travaux qui débutèrent en 1866 réorientèrent la nouvelle église au nord, construisant son chœur sur l’ancien cimetière. Ornée de tableaux du 18 ème siècle, la nouvelle église est dotée d’un clocher carré et d’une nef unique.

- Le château de Caille : le château, dont la construction est antérieure au 16ème siècle, fut remodelé à plusieurs reprises au fil des siècles avant d’être finalement divisé en 1868. Plusieurs grandes familles seigneuriales se succédèrent au château du 13 ème au 18 ème siècle. L’entablement de la porte d’origine apparaît de style néo-classique, privilégiant l’ordonnancement des lignes et la symétrie.

- Le lavoir de Caille : datant du début du 20 ème siècle, le lavoir appartient à la dernière génération des lavoirs de village. Récemment décoré d’une fresque illustrant une scène typique de l’époque où les villageoises faisaient leur lessive autour du lavoir. Un témoignage de l’une d’entre elles, issu du livre de Michèle Fontana « Si Caille … m’était conté », raconte qu’il leur fallait dédier une journée entière à la lessive.

Les activités :

- Randonnées pédestres dans les plaines et sur le massif de l’Audibergue
- Circuits en raquettes
- Ski alpin, ski de fond
- VTT : VTT de la Glacière + Runix
- Via Souterrata
- Spéléologie
- Parc Accrobranche de la Moulière

Les rendez-vous annuels :

En juin : festival Amérindien
En juillet : fête du Pain, Festival de musique Pass’a Caille, Trial 4x4
En août : fête de la saint Etienne

 

Dormir sur la commune...