Amirat

Mairie d’Amirat
06910 AMIRAT
+33(0)4 93 05 80 55
mairie.amirat@wanadoo.fr
www.ville-amirat.com



This village, set on a hill’s southern slope, offers a dramatic view over the Upper Estéron River Valley. It was first established, higher on the hill, in the Middle Ages, then was totally abandoned and rebuilt in the late 16th century.
Anchored to the hillside at an altitude of 860 m, the village is surrounded by high, verdant hills and vast expanses of forest. Amirat is off the beaten track and thus a place of profound peace and quiet, with sunshine most of the year, making it a favorite with nature-lovers. Do you like hiking and exploring nature? Here, the forests, summits, and valleys await you, be it on foot, horseback, or by bike, and whatever your skill level may be.

Must-see sights:

- Sainte Anne church (16th century)
This church, built after the separation of Amirat and Castelet Saint Cassien, has buttresses and minimal number of openings, indicating the structure’s defensive role. If danger threatened, the village inhabitants could take refuge within its walls. The Sainte Anne church boasts a double génoise decorative frieze beneath the eaves, which was an indication of the owner’s social rank and wealth. It foreshadowed the village’s renaissance in the Early Modern period.

- Saint Jeannet chapel (16th century)
The Saint Jeannet chapel in the Maupoil quarter of town was most likely originally a penitents’ chapel. It bears the name of the patron saint of the men of Amirat. The porch, as large as the building itself, was designed to shelter pilgrims. It also houses a beautiful wooden gate.  

Activities:

- Hiking: GR4 (Grasse - Rougon), Estéron River Valley
- Mountain-biking routes:
• Collongues / St Jeannet chapel in Amirat / Gars / Mujouls
• Amirat / Entrevaux

Key annual events:

In June: Fête de la Saint Jean
In July: Fête de la Saint Anne, celebrating the village’s patron saint
October: Fête du Rosaire

 

 

Dormir sur la commune...

Amirat

Mairie d’Amirat
06910 Amirat
Tel : +33(0)4 93 05 80 55
mairie.amirat@wanadoo.fr
www.ville-amirat.com



Situé sur le versant sud d’une colline, le village d’Amirat offre un panorama d’exception sur la vallée du haut Estéron. D’origine médiévale et alors situé plus haut, il fut totalement abandonné et reconstruit fin du 16 ème siècle.
Construit à flanc de côteau à 860 m d’altitude, il est niché au milieu de verdoyantes collines et entouré de vastes forêts. Véritable havre de paix, ensoleillé la plupart du temps, Amirat comble les amateurs de nature, de calme et de silence : vous aimez les randonnées ? Ici, vous aurez la possibilité d’en faire à pied, à cheval, à vélo et de tous les niveaux.

Les incontournables :

- L’ Eglise sainte Anne (16ème siècle)

Construite après la séparation d’Amirat et de Castelet Saint Cassien, ses contreforts et le faible nombre d’ouvertures, rappellent la fonction défensive de l’édifice. En cas de danger, les habitants du village pouvaient en effet se réfugier à l’intérieur de ses murs. L’église Sainte Anne est ornée d’une double génoise, élément décoratif qui indiquait également le rang social et la richesse du propriétaire. Elle préfigure le renouveau du village de l’époque moderne.

- La chapelle saint Jeannet (16ème siècle)

Situé dans le quartier de Maupoil, la chapelle saint Jeannet était vraisemblablement à l’origine une chapelle de pénitents. Elle porte le nom du saint patron des hommes d’Amirat. Son porche, aussi grand que le bâtiment en lui-même fut conçu pour abriter les pélerins. Elle abrite également une belle grille en bois.

Les activités :

- Randonnées pédestres : GR4 (Grasse - Rougon), Vallée de l’Estéron
- Circuits VTT :
• Collongues / Chapelle St Jeannet d’Amirat / Gars / Mujouls
• Amirat / Entrevaux

Les rendez-vous annuels :

En juin : fête de la Saint Jean
En juillet : fête de la Sainte Anne, sainte patronne du village
En octobre : fête du Rosaire

 

 

Dormir sur la commune...