Andon

Mairie d’Andon
23, Place Victorin Bonhomme
06750 Andon
Tél : +33(0)4 93 60 45 40
mairie@andon.fr
www.ville-andon.com



Andon, a village boasting plentiful culture and numerous Roman and medieval vestiges, offers warm hospitality, local cuisine ,and a wide variety of accommodations, but is also an excellent base for outdoor enthusiasts (skiing, caving, hiking, mountain biking).

The village is blessed with a ski resort, L’Audibergue, where you can enjoy downhill and cross-country skiing with your family. Andon will delight speleologists and spelunkers with its many sinkholes surrounding the town. From the top of Audibergue mountain, summer hikers and winter skiers can drink in a breathtaking view of the coast to the south and the mountains to the north.

Must-see sights:

- The Monts d’Azur Biological Reserve :The Monts d’Azur Biological Reserve, spreading over vast acreage in the Haut-Thorenc ski area, is a superb wildlife sanctuary protecting ancient and astonishing species of fauna and flora: elk, Przewalski’s horses, European bison, red deer. You can enjoy a wide variety of activities there, as well: safaris on foot or by horse-drawn carriage (in summer), snowshoeing or sleigh rides (in winter), observation huts and photo blinds, natural swimming pool, climbing wall, and a children’s playground.
It also has novel and comfortable accommodations, such as ecolodges and a bioclimatic villa.

- Sainte Claire church :The medieval church, located opposite the town hall, was restored in 1820. Inside are a modern

high altar and a 17th-century Spanish Christ. To the left of the entrance are the baptismal fonts and 13th-century sculptures.

- Lac de Thorenc :This lake, le Lac de Thorenc, is a magnet for a wide variety of events that take place on the surrounding land, like garage sales, flea markets, markets, and sales and information displays by exhibitors representing any number of products. You can enjoy pony rides, go fishing (bring your own tackle), picnic at the specially installed benches and tables, or simply stroll along the water’s edge in the shade of the majestic trees overhead.

Activities:

- Hiking:
• Toward the Plateau de Caussols
• Toward Audibergue mountain
• In the forest of Bas Thorenc
- Snowshoeing, dog sledding, Nordic walking
- Winter sports resorts: L’Audibergue and La Moulière
- Mountain biking in the Caille plain
- Via ferrata
- Pony rides at the lake
- Speleology in Audibergue mountain
- Castle ruins on the Castellaras de Thorenc

Key annual events:

In July: Raspberry Festival
In August: Sainte Claire patron saint festival
In September: Gastronomy Festival

 

Dormir sur la commune...

Andon

Mairie d’Andon

23, Place Victorin Bonhomme
06750 Andon
Tél : +33(0)4 93 60 45 40
mairie@andon.fr
www.ville-andon.com



Fort de sa culture et riche de nombreux vestiges romains et moyenâgeux, Andon vous séduira par son accueil chaleureux, sa gastronomie locale et ses nombreuses offres d’hébergement, mais aussi par ses activités sportives (ski, spéléologie, randonnées, VTT).

Le village a la chance de posséder une station de ski, l’Audibergue, où vous pourrez pratiquer ski alpin et ski de fond en famille. Andon fera le bonheur des amateurs de spéléologie grâce aux nombreux gouffres et avens présents sur la commune. Les skieurs et randonneurs se donneront rendez-vous sur le sommet de l’Audibergue d’où ils pourront admirer un panorama qui s’étend jusqu’à la mer.
   

Les incontournables :

- La réserve biologique des Monts d’Azur : Située en plein cœur du domaine du Haut-Thorenc, la réserve biologique des Monts d’Azur est une réserve d’animaux exceptionnelle, où se côtoient des espèces ancestrales et étonnantes de la faune et de la flore : élans, chevaux de Przewalski, Bisons d’Europe, cerf élaphe. De nombreuses activités sont proposées : safaris à pied ou en calèche (en été), à raquettes ou en traineau (en hiver), cabanes d’observation et affût photo, piscine naturelle, mur d’escalade et aire de jeux pour les enfants.
Elle dispose également d’hébergements originaux et confortables, comme les écolodges ou une villa bioclimatique.

- L’Eglise Sainte-Claire : L’église située face à la mairie, d’origine médiévale, fut restaurée en 1820. A l’intérieur de l’église se trouve un maître-autel moderne ainsi qu’un Christ espagnol datant du 17 ème siècle. A gauche de l’entrée, les fonds baptismaux et ses sculptures datant du 13 ème siècle.

- Le lac de Thorenc : Le lac de Thorenc vit au rythme des nombreuses manifestations qui prennent place sur le terrain qui l’entoure, à l’instar des vide-greniers, brocantes, marchés et exposants de divers produits. Il est possible d’effectuer des balades en poney, de pêcher en apportant son propre matériel, de pique-niquer en prenant place sur les bancs et tables aménagés à cet effet ou encore de profiter tout simplement d’une balade au bord du lac sous l’ombre des arbres majestueux qui l’entourent.

Les activités :

- Randonnées pédestres   
• En direction du plateau de Caussols
• En direction de la montagne de l’Audibergue
• Dans la forêt domaniale de Bas Thorenc

- Randonnées en raquette, avec des chiens de traîneau, marche nordique
- Stations de sport d’hiver : l’Audibergue et la Moulière
- VTT dans la plaine de Caille
- Via Ferrata
- Promenade à poney au lac de Thorenc
- Spéléologie dans le Massif de l’Audibergue
- Ruines du château de Castellaras de Thorenc

Les rendez-vous annuels :

En juillet : fête de la framboise
En août : fête patronale de la Sainte-Claire
En septembre : fête de la gastronomie

 

Dormir sur la commune...